AKADEMIE DER KÜNSTE

Press Release

25 May 2024

Manos Tsangaris is the Akademie der Künste's New President Anh-Linh Ngo is the New Vice-President

Monday, 27 May 2024: Press conference, 11 am / Photo session, 10:45 am Akademie der Künste, Pariser Platz 4, 10117 Berlin

At the 62nd Members' General Assembly in Berlin today, Saturday, 25 May 2024, the Akademie der Künste has elected composer **Manos Tsangaris** as its president and architectural publicist **Anh-Linh Ngo** as its vice-president. Both were elected by a large majority.

The president and vice-president will introduce themselves at a **press conference** in the Akademie building, Pariser Platz, on Monday, 27 May 2024, at 11 am. The election of new leadership concludes the terms of Jeanine Meerapfel as Akademie president and Kathrin Röggla as vice-president, each of whom spent nine years in office – the maximum amount of terms provided for under the Akademie Statutes.

The Akademie der Künste Senate has also been elected:

Visual Arts Section: **Karin Sander** (director) and **Arnold Dreyblatt** (deputy director)

Architecture Section: **HG Merz** (director) and **Regine Keller** (deputy director) Music Section: **Carola Bauckholt** (director) and **Iris ter Schiphorst** (deputy director)

Literature Section: **Kerstin Hensel** (director) and **Cécile Wajsbrot** (deputy director)

Performing Arts Section: Nele Hertling (director), Mark Lammert (deputy director)

The Film and Media Arts Section has postponed its elections. The previous executive directors, **Thomas Heise** (director) and **Helke Misselwitz** (deputy director), will continue to head the offices for now. Regine Keller (Architecture Section) and Mark Lammert (Performing Arts Section) have been elected to the Akademie Senate for the first time.

The Akademie der Künste currently has 407 international members in its six Sections: Visual Arts, Architecture, Music, Literature, Performing Arts, and Film and Media Arts. The term in office for all elected positions is three years. According to the Statutes, re-election is possible twice (for two more terms).

Biographical information about Manos Tsangaris is available <u>here</u>, and about Anh-Linh Ngo <u>here</u>.

Press Contact: Anette Schmitt, schmitt@adk.de / presse@adk.de / <a href="mailto:presse@a

Press and Public Relations

Pariser Platz 4 10117 Berlin T +49 (0)30 200 57–15 14 F +49 (0)30 200 57–15 08 presse@adk.de www.adk.de